The LGNZ EXCELLENCE Awards recognise and celebrate excellent performance by councils in promoting and growing the well-being of their communities.

The Awards are judged on a combination of general and specific criteria, incorporating best practice and components from the CouncilMARK™ excellence programme's four priority areas.

Award categories

The categories for 2021 are as below:

  • Kāinga Ora Homes and Communities EXCELLENCE Award for Social Well-being;
  • MartinJenkins EXCELLENCE Award for Economic Well-being;
  • Air New Zealand EXCELLENCE Award for Environmental Well-being; and
  • Creative New Zealand EXCELLENCE Award for Cultural Well-being.

In addition, one or more individuals will be awarded the Te Tari Taiwhenua Internal Affairs EXCELLENCE Award for Outstanding Contribution to Local Government, and Fulton Hogan will also select the Local EXCELLENCE Award from among the finalists.

Awards timeline

Process and timeline detailed below

EXCELLENCE Awards Launched February 2021
Entrants complete Expression of Interest form Due 19 March 2021
LGNZ to compile EOI forms for assessment 22 - 26 March 2021
Judges select shortlist 31 March 2021
LGNZ to notify shortlist 1 April 2021
Shortlist complete full application Due 30 April 2021
LGNZ to compile applications for assessment 3 - 7 May 2021
Judges select award recipients and Sponsor selects overall category recipient 11 May 2021
LGNZ to notify finalists 14 May 2021
Award recipients notified under embargo 20 May 2021
Finalists publicly announced 20 May 2020
Award recipient videos created with LGNZ June 2021
Conference dinner and EXCELLENCE Awards recipients announced Friday 16 July 2021

NB: School holidays Saturday 17 April - Sunday 2 May (includes ANZAC day).